Under Missouri law, the Governor has the authority to issue proclamations for special occasions and events. For a proclamation to be considered, the occasion or event must pertain to a Missouri person, organization or event and must be a significant anniversary, milestone or achievement.
Due to the volume of requests received by the Governor’s Office, and the time involved in processing the requests, you may find the following tips helpful:
- Be sure to make the request well in advance of the time when the proclamation is needed. You may place your request up to 3 months in advance of the event/occasion date. Please note that proclamations are generally not completed and mailed until 7-10 working days prior to the date needed.
- It can take up to 30 days for a proclamation to be issued. If you request a proclamation less than 30 days in advance of the date needed, our office may not be able to process and complete the request.
- Providing proposed language for the proclamation is extremely helpful.
- Requests for proclamations with past event/occasion dates will not be processed. For example: a request submitted in April, for a March event/occasion, will not be processed.