Gov. Nixon requests major disaster declaration to assist communities and residents impacted by flooding and severe storms

July 28, 2010
Governor has also sought agricultural assistance to aid farmers in 55 Missouri counties
Jefferson City, MO

Gov. Jay Nixon yesterday requested from President Barack Obama a major disaster declaration for 32 Missouri counties to assist individuals, to speed recovery and to help get Missourians back to work in the aftermath of flooding, excessive rain and severe storms that have affected much of the state.

The State Emergency Management Agency and the Federal Emergency Management Agency continue to perform joint damage assessments in nine other Missouri counties and the city of St. Louis. Additional jurisdictions will be added to the request based on the results of these assessments.

"Since the spring, Missouri communities have been hit by flooding, strong winds and excessive rainfall which have left severe damage in their wake," Gov. Nixon said. "I am asking the President to issue a major disaster declaration so that counties, local governments and individuals that have sustained severe damage because of the storms and flooding will have the resources to rebuild and recover."

Gov. Nixon's request for public assistance includes the following counties: Adair, Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Caldwell, Carroll, Cass, Chariton, Clark, Clinton, Daviess, DeKalb, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Holt, Howard, Jackson, Lafayette, Lewis, Livingston, Mercer, Nodaway, Putnam, Ray, Schuyler, Scotland, Sullivan and Worth.

Based on assessments performed as of July 26, Gov. Nixon's request for individual assistance includes the following counties: Andrew, Buchanan, Cass, Daviess, Holt, Jackson, Livingston, Marion, Miller, Ralls and Schuyler.

Joint damage assessments are still being performed in the following counties: Audrain, Callaway, Knox, Linn, Monroe, Pike, Randolph, Shelby, St. Louis and the city of St. Louis.

Citing the extraordinary hardship and losses caused to agricultural areas, Gov. Nixon also has asked Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack to designate 55 Missouri counties as primary disaster areas, which will permit assistance for farmers from the USDA's Farm Service Agency.

"Agriculture is a vital part of our economy, and it is essential that Missouri's farmers have the support they need to keep their operations running after being affected by storms," Gov. Nixon said.  "I've requested a designation from Secretary Vilsack that would assist our of our state's central industries in moving forward."

Counties for which agricultural assistance is being requested are: Adair, Andrew, Audrain, Benton, Caldwell, Callaway, Carroll, Cass, Chariton, Clark, Cooper , Crawford, Daviess, Dekalb, Dunklin, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Henry, Hickory, Holt, Howard, Jackson, Jefferson, Laclede, Lafayette, Lewis, Lincoln, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Maries, Marion, Mercer, Mississippi, Moniteau, Monroe, Montgomery, Pemiscot, Perry, Pettis, Pike, Platte, Putnam, Ralls, Ray, St. Charles, Ste. Genevieve, Saline, Schuyler, Scotland, Sullivan, Vernon, Warren and Worth.