Gov. Nixon's request for major disaster declaration for Missouri counties hit by flooding and storms this summer granted by President Obama

August 17, 2010
Declaration means federal government will reimburse 75 percent of eligible emergency response and recovery expenses associated with June and July flooding, severe storms and excessive rain
Jefferson City, MO

A request by Gov. Jay Nixon for a major disaster declaration for areas across Missouri hit by flooding, severe storms and excessive rain during June and July was granted today by President Barack Obama. The declaration paves the way for affected counties and local governments to seek millions of dollars in federal funds for disaster-related emergency response and recovery expenses. The federal government will reimburse local governments for 75 percent of their emergency response and eligible recovery activities associated with the damaging weather beginning June 12.

"I appreciate the President making this major disaster declaration so that our counties, local governments and communities can obtain the assistance they need in recovering their costs," Gov. Nixon said. "Local officials across Missouri responded quickly to the devastating floods, damaging rain and severe storms, and this declaration will help expedite the recovery process."

The President's declaration will assist at least 29 counties in recovering from the damage caused by flooding and the damaging weather. Those counties include Adair, Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Caldwell, Carroll, Cass, Chariton, Clark, Clinton, Daviess, DeKalb, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Holt, Howard, Jackson, Lafayette, Lewis, Livingston, Mercer, Nodaway, Putnam, Ray, Schuyler, Scotland, Sullivan and Worth.

Additionally, since Gov. Nixon's July 27 request, joint damage assessments have been completed by the State Emergency Management Agency and the Federal Emergency Management Agency in nine other Missouri counties and the city of St. Louis, which were impacted by this storm system. Those counties are Audrain, Knox, Linn, Marion, Monroe, Pike, Ralls, Shelby, St. Louis and the city of St. Louis. Gov. Nixon will request that the President's major disaster declaration be expanded to include those jurisdictions as well.

Gov. Nixon's major disaster declaration request followed a series of visits by the Governor to affected areas and actions to assist communities respond.

The Governor conducted a visit to Holt County and met with officials there on June 18; declared a state of emergency on June 21; conducted an aerial tour of northwest Missouri and met with response officials in Buchanan and Holt counties on June 22; activated the Missouri National Guard on June 23; and conducted a visit to Buchanan County and met with officials there on June 26. 

Citing the extraordinary hardship and losses caused to agricultural areas, Gov. Nixon on July 28 asked Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack to designate 55 Missouri counties as primary disaster areas, which will permit assistance for farmers from the USDA's Farm Service Agency.

Counties for which agricultural assistance has been requested are: Adair, Andrew, Audrain, Benton, Caldwell, Callaway, Carroll, Cass, Chariton, Clark, Cooper , Crawford, Daviess, DeKalb, Dunklin, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Henry, Hickory, Holt, Howard, Jackson, Jefferson, Laclede, Lafayette, Lewis, Lincoln, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Maries, Marion, Mercer, Mississippi, Moniteau, Monroe, Montgomery, Pemiscot, Perry, Pettis, Pike, Platte, Putnam, Ralls, Ray, St. Charles, Ste. Genevieve, Saline, Schuyler, Scotland, Sullivan, Vernon, Warren and Worth.