Executive Order 14-15

WHEREAS, all Missourians have a shared interest in working together to bring about greater prosperity and fairness; and

WHEREAS, the unrest and public discourse set in motion by the events of August 9 in Ferguson, Missouri underscore the need for a thorough, wide-ranging and unflinching study of the social and economic conditions that impede progress, equality and safety in the St. Louis region; and

WHEREAS, a commission comprised of empowered and diverse citizens of the St. Louis region can effectively address these shared challenges; and

WHEREAS, such commission shall take testimony and gather information, and shall engage the scholarly and research expertise necessary to help inform the commission about the issues set forth in this Executive Order; and

WHEREAS, such commission shall study and recommend ways to make the St. Louis region a stronger, fairer place for everyone to live.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, JEREMIAH W. (JAY) NIXON, GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF MISSOURI, by virtue of the authority vested in me by the Constitution and Laws of the State of Missouri, do hereby establish the “Ferguson Commission.”

The Ferguson Commission shall issue a report containing policy recommendations after undertaking a study of the following subjects:

  1.   Citizen-law enforcement interaction and relations;
  2.   Racial and ethnic relations;
  3.   Municipal government organization, and the municipal court system; and
  4.   Disparities in substantive areas that include, but not are not limited to, education, economic opportunity, health care, housing, transportation, child care, business ownership, and family and community stability. 

Responsibility for the investigation into any specific police-involved shooting is not within the scope of the Ferguson Commission.

The following individuals are hereby appointed to the Ferguson Commission:

  • Starsky D. Wilson (Co-Chair)
  • Richard H. McClure (Co-Chair)
  • Traci D. Blackmon
  • Daniel Isom II
  • Scott M. Negwer
  • Bethany A. Johnson-Javois
  • Gabriel E. Gore
  • Brittany N. Packnett
  • Rose A. Windmiller
  • Rasheen L. Aldridge, Jr.
  • Grayling Tobias
  • Claire R. “Becky” James-Hatter
  • Felicia A. Pulliam
  • Kevin W. Ahlbrand
  • Patrick J. Sly
  • Truman Robert “T.R.” Carr, Jr.

The final report of the Ferguson Commission shall be presented to me by no later than September 15, 2015. The Commission may also provide recommendations prior to delivery of the final report as circumstances warrant.

All departments of state government, and the Office of Community Engagement, shall cooperate with the Ferguson Commission.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the State of Missouri, in the City of Jefferson, on this 18th day of November, 2014.

Jeremiah W. (Jay) Nixon


Jason Kander
Secretary of State