Governor Parson Announces Ten Appointments to Various Boards, Commissions, and County Office Vacancies

AUGUST 14, 2018

 — Today, Governor Parson announced 10 appointments to various boards, commissions, and county office vacancies.

Tim Brinker, of Washington, was appointed as the Franklin County Presiding Commissioner.

Brinker is the owner of Brinker Promotions in Washington.  He previously served as Franklin County First District Commissioner and is a former member of the Washington City Council.  Brinker is involved with the Elks, the Knights of Columbus, and the County Commissioners Association of Missouri.

Jennifer Dixon, of St. Joseph, was appointed to the Missouri Western State University Board of Governors.

Dixon is the Branch Manager of Fairway Independent Mortgage Corp.  She holds a Bachelor of Science degree from Missouri Western State University.  Dixon serves on the Missouri Western State University Foundation Board of Directors, and she previously served on the Missouri Higher Education Loan Authority.  She has also been involved with the Family Guidance Center, the St. Joseph Chamber of Commerce, and United Way of Greater St. Joseph.

Cindy Duckworth, of Bloomfield, was appointed as the Stoddard County Public Administrator.  

Duckworth previously served as the Deputy Public Administrator for Stoddard County.  She has worked in the Public Administrator’s office since 2010 and has more than 25 years of banking experience.

Lisa Elmore, of Fair Grove, was appointed to the Missouri Board of Examiners for Hearing Instrument Specialists.

Elmore is a board-certified hearing instrument specialist, licensed in the state of Missouri.  She is an adjunct faculty member of the Hearing Instrument Science program at Ozark Technical Community College.  Elmore received an associate’s degree in hearing instrument science from Ozarks Technical Community College.  She is a member of the International Hearing Society and the Missouri Hearing Society.

William Hopfinger, of Sunset Hills, was reappointed to the Advisory Commission for Physical Therapists.

Hopfinger has served on the Advisory Commission for Physical Therapists since 2006.  He is the owner/president of St. Louis Home Health, Inc.  Hopfinger holds a Bachelor of Science degree in physical therapy from St. Louis University.

Alyssa Mayer, of Kansas City, was appointed to the Kansas City Board of Election Commissioners.

Mayer is an associate attorney at Husch Blackwell LLP.  She holds a B.A. in political science from Truman State University and a J.D. from Washington University School of law.  She is a member of the Missouri Bar Association and the Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Association.

Cindy Robinson-Steen, of Glenwood, was appointed as the Schuyler County Circuit Clerk.

Robinson-Steen previously served as the Deputy Circuit Clerk for Schuyler County.  She received a paralegal certificate from Moberly Area Community College and is a graduate of Scotland County R-1 High School.  Robinson-Steen is involved with the Law Enforcement Restitution Fund, Lancaster Methodist Church, and the Schuyler County Community Center. 

Jim Ruse, of Gallatin, was appointed as the Daviess County Presiding Commissioner.

Ruse retired as the Assistant Superintendent of the Chillicothe R-2 School District.  He previously served as the Superintendent of the Gallatin R-V School District for 20 years.  Ruse holds an Education Specialist degree, a Master of Science degree, and a Bachelor of Science degree from Northwest Missouri State University.

Sharon Turner Buie, of Kansas City, was appointed to the Kansas City Board of Election Commissioners.

Turner Buie retired as the Director of the Kansas City Board of Election Commissioners in 2007.  She holds a master’s degree in management from Baker University and a bachelor’s degree in social psychology from Park University.  Turner Buie also received a Chancellor’s Certificate in public administration from the University of Missouri-St. Louis.

Melissa Vigen, of Kahoka, was appointed as the Clark County Public Administrator.

Vigen is a funeral director at Vigen Memorial Home.  She holds an Associate of Applied Science degree in funeral directing and embalming from Carl Sandburg Community College and an Associate of Arts degree from Southeastern Community College. Vigen is involved with the Missouri Funeral Directors Association and the Kahoka/Clark County Chamber of Commerce.